Helen Lowe

Author & Poet

"A richly told tale of strange magic, dark treachery, and conflicting loyalties, set in a well-realized world"—Robin Hobb

To read more about The Wall of Night series, or my other writing, visit me on my blog

Sir Julius Vogel Award winner 2011 - Best Novel

The Wall of Night Series

If Night Falls, All Fall...

© Helen Lowe 2008






News from the Wall:

Daughter Of Blood was published on 26 January — in the USA and UK, Australia, and New Zealand.

Find out more:

Voyager, USA or

Orbit, UK


In June 2012, The Heir of Night won the UK-based Gemmell Morningstar Award for Best Fantasy Newcomer. 

The Gathering of The Lost, (The Wall Of Night Book Two), was shortlisted for the David Gemmell Legend Award 2013.


Here's what three fellow authors have to say:

Helen Lowe writes wonderful stories, yes, but her work also speaks with lyricism to deeper questions of how we treat each other.  With lovely prose that brings vivid life to her characters, she creates a universe with people we care about. This is an author with a gift for fantasy.”  ~ Nebula Award-winner, Catherine Asaro

“Helen Lowe’s writing moves from strength to strength. Powerful story lines, memorable characters and a vividly imagined world.”Juliet Marillier

"So if you've any fondness for epic fantasy, I highly recommend you give The Wall of Night series a try. I can't wait for the next novel in the series." ~ Courtney Schafer

And yes, I have started writing The Chaos Gate (working title) The Wall of Night Series, Book Four

To follow progress, check for intermittent postings on my blog: they'll either be under What I've Been Doing and/or My Books in the sidebar.

Fortresses of shadow and decay

An ancient war

A world where everyone could be an enemy —
and no-one is quite what they seem

A society divided by prejudice, suspicion, and fear

Lost powers and undiscovered secrets

A young untried champion
and a promise that has endured down centuries
— that she should not have to stand alone


To find out more about the currently published books in the series, including synopses, reviews, and links to excerpts, please click on the book titles:

The Heir of Night

The Gathering of the Lost